The Tiger's Eye

The Title of the Book Says “Life, Death and Hope In A Mumbai Undercity.”

Life?  Check.  Actually, I would change that to hard life.

Death?  Check-Check.

Hope?  Well, I’m not so sure.

Mumbai, the financial capital of India, is also home to thousands of slum dwellers, eking out a living.  There is a stark difference between the lavishness of the five-star hotels near the international airport and the flimsy huts whose inhabitants live next to a sewage lake.  The blight of the slums are hidden behind a wall that advertises L’Oreal and promises buyers that they can be “Beautiful Forever …Beautiful Forever.”

I found the narrative to be objective and unwavering. At first, I was turned off by this. I think I was expecting something more poignant and touching like Kite Runner or Nectar in a Sieve, two novels I dearly love.

Behind the Beautiful Forevers is different. …

View original post 410 more words

Leave a Reply

